Still Elected 2013 MBA Chairman; Burke, Cosgrove Elected as Officers

October 22, 2012, Chicago, IL – The Mortgage Bankers Association elected Debra Still, CMB, president and CEO of Pulte Mortgage LLC, Englewood, Colo., as 2013 chairman here at the associations 99th Annual Convention & Expo.

E. J. Burke, executive vice president and group head of KeyBank Real Estate Capital and Corporate Banking Services, Cleveland, Ohio, was elected chairman-elect, while Bill Cosgrove, CMB, president and CEO of Union National Mortgage Co., Strongsville, Ohio, was named vice chairman. All three officers will serve for the 2012-2013 membership year.

Michael Young, chairman of the board of Cenlar FSB, Ewing, N.J., will serve as immediate past chairman. “Our industry has undergone, and will continue to face, incredible change,” he said. “I will be forever grateful for having had the opportunity to help lead that change and play a role in continuing to strengthen the value that MBA offers not just its members, but all those who participate in our real estate finance system. I wish Deb well as she assumes the chairmanship, and know that she will build on the positive momentum of the last year.”

Debra Still, CMB, Chairman – as chairman, a top item on Still’s agenda is to lead collaboration within the industry and with policymakers to restore vibrant real estate markets that will help build thriving neighborhoods across the country, creating jobs and fueling economic growth.

An active MBA member for more than a decade, Still has served on MBA’s Strategic Planning Committee and was chair of the MBA Forward Task Force, as well as a member of MBA’s Loan Origination Task Force, Affordable Housing Committee and the Secondary and Capital Markets Committee. She also recently served as chair of MBA’s Residential Board of Governors and is a member of the association’s Board of Directors. She has served as chairman-elect of the MBA since October 2012.

“MBA is the leading voice in Washington representing the diverse business interests of its members and their customers,” Still said. “In the coming year, our members will continue to face change that transforms the way we do business and MBA must be a forward-looking force for that change, both within the industry and within the policymaking arena. We have a rare opportunity to create a positive legacy for real estate lending in this country and I am looking forward to actively shaping the policies and practices that will define our businesses and our customers experiences, going forward.”

Still has more than three decades of experience in the mortgage industry. She joined Pulte Mortgage in 1983 as vice president/branch manager for the Maryland division and subsequently held that position in the Dallas/Ft. Worth division. In June 1997, she was promoted to executive vice president of production and in October of that year was appointed to the Pulte Mortgage Board of Directors and named corporate secretary. In 1999, she became chief operating officer and in August 2004 was appointed president and CEO.

E.J. Burke, Chairman-Elect – Burke has more than three decades of experience in the mortgage industry. He is a past chair of MBA’s Commercial Real Estate/Multifamily Finance Board of Governors and is a member of the association’s Board of Directors. He also serves as chair of the COMBOG Risk Retention Task Force and is a former chair of the COMBOG Investor Council. Since October 2011, he has served as MBAs vice chair.

Before assuming responsibility for the entire Real Estate Capital line of business at KeyBank, Burke served as head of real estate capital markets. He also served as managing director for Key’s Commercial Mortgage Division. Prior to joining KeyBank, he was president and a founding member of Kansas City-based National Realty Funding LC, which was acquired by KeyCorp in 2000.

Prior to co-founding National Realty Funding in 1997, Burke was program director for Midland Commercial Funding, a division of Midland Loan Services LP. Prior to joining Midland in 1993, he held various commercial lending positions in Oklahoma City and Kansas City.

Bill Cosgrove, CMB, Vice Chairman – a longtime and active MBA member, Cosgrove has served as a member of MBA’s Board of Directors, on MBA’s Legislative Steering Committee and on its Residential Board of Governors Advisory Committee. During the 2009-2010 election cycle, he served as chairman of MORPAC, the industry’s political action committee, raising more than $1 million to bolster MBA’s advocacy efforts. He has also served as chairman of MBA’s GSE Repurchase Request Task Force and was co-chairman of the Loan Originator Qualification Task Force.

Cosgrove was the 2011 recipient of MBA’s Burton C. Wood Legislative Service Award, given annually to an MBA member in recognition of his or her sustained superior service to the association and the real-estate finance industry as a whole. In addition, he also served as chairman of the Ohio Mortgage Bankers Association.

After joining Union National in 1994, Cosgrove was named company president just three years later. He went on to purchase Union National in 1999. The company will close more than $1 billion in lending this year.

In 2000, Cosgrove was recognized on Crain’s Cleveland Business 40 under 40 list. In 2003 he was inducted into the Bedford High School (Ohio) Hall of Fame. He has testified for the industry before Congress and the Ohio State House. He began his career as a loan officer and has more than 26 years experience as a mortgage banker.

Source: MBA NewsLink, October 22, 2012 by Matt Robinson

Media Contact

Adrienne Kowalski

Corporate Communications